“That’s how we deal with boys like me”*

I no longer see why I should try not to relent

when the instinct kicks in:

fight or flight isn’t really a choice for boys like me

 

but anyway,

go ahead & tell me about the problems

that weigh you down;

tell me about the rivals

who know the sweet taste of your mouth,

the rivals

that share the secret of your insides…

 

Without you,

I can’t see why I should try not to think about

the old city, about that lost life

all the time;

 

like a bride deprived of sensation & sight

after the bitter disappointment of just another dismal,

cliche wedding night,

through the senseless everything

I run,

run,

run

away

 

a bathetic, self-inflicted

fuck up;

 

I want oblivion

 

& to forget everything,

 

except that promise we made

in a dream I think I once had

 

*Despite What You’ve Been Told – Two Gallants

Leave a Reply

